Unsound Methods



In stock

Free Shipping for orders over £50


Release Date: 15th September 2023

Recoil is the musical project of former Depeche
Mode member, Alan Wilder, and Mute are
reissuing the project’s last three albums – ‘Liquid’,
‘subHuman’ and ‘Unsound Methods’.
Originally a solo venture for Alan’s more
experimental work outside of Depeche, Recoil
became his primary music project after he
announced his departure from the band in 1995.
Recorded at Alan Wilder’s home studio, ‘Unsound
Methods’ is Recoil’s fourth studio album. The
record included a number of collaborators, with
four separate solo vocalists: Douglas McCarthy of
Nitzer Ebb, Siobhan Lynch, New York spoken
word artist and poet Maggie Estep, and Hildia
Cambell, who Wilder worked with on his final
Depeche Mode album.
Although all collaborators were allowed free range,
‘Unsound Methods’ still reverberates as the
epitome of Recoil’s dark and atmospheric sound.


  1. Incubus
  2. Drifting
  3. Luscious Apparatus
  4. Stalker
  5. Red River Cargo
  6. Control Freak
  7. Missing Piece
  8. Last Breath
  9. Shunt