Milksick (Milk White Vinyl)



In stock

Free Shipping for orders over £50


Like a lucid Shane MacGowan fronting a frazzled house band, YOWL are a South London based 5 piece of menacing-indie storytellers, swinging from intense proto-punk to swooning balladry. Their debut album Milksick is released on September 14th on Clue Records/EMI North. Born from the grit and gristle of South London, the record is both a curdled, anxiety-riddled reaction and a bitter antidote to our times. The band have been supported by DIY, NME, Radio 1, 6Music, Apple Music’s Beats 1, CLASH and more as well as playing festivals and showcases across Europe including Pitchfork Avant-Garde, Amsterdam’s London Calling and All Points East. Tearing through several iterations, birthing and destroying characters and concept-driven rabbit holes, the band liken Milksick’s creation in Leeds’ Nave Studios as something they “chipped away at, like a slab of ugly rock that became a handsome statue.” The band returned to producer and grounding presence Alex Greaves, producer for BDRMM and Working Mens Club. Encapsulating the spirit of the record, the band say: “Milksick is a collection of outlandish cautionary tales, uneasy odes to imaginary characters and late night pedal-fuckery, all tied together by a thread of eco-anxiety and that mildly bitter, self-effacing outlook that has earned us our similarly disgruntled following.” The South London five-piece’s intense proto-punk and swooning balladry has won support from DIY, NME, BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music, Apple Music’s Beats 1, CLASH and more, building momentum across Europe at festivals including Pitchfork Avant-Garde and Amsterdam’s London Calling, as well as shows and tours with the likes of IDLES, Working Mens Club and LICE. YOWL are set to deliver the album to an audience in all its ferocity with a string of dates across the UK and Europe. Early on the band released via the Big Score imprint (Goat Girl, The Big Moon) and DIY’s Curtain Call project alongside LIFE and Sweaty Palms before signing to indie label Clue Records (The Wedding Present, Bored At My Grandmas House, Treeboy & Arc) who recently announced their partnership with EMI as part of EMI North. Continued press support, including an appearance on Steve Lamacq’s Roundtable. On the live front, they’ve played shows and toured with IDLES, Working Mens Club and LICE, and sold out multiple headline shows in London.


  1. Virile Crocodile Sweat
  2. The Machine
  3. Donkey’s Jawbone
  4. Positive Exit
  5. Canis
  6. The Farmer’s Big Spade
  7. Weedkiller
  8. The Weatherman
  9. Wegener
  10. Idiot Daughters, Idiot Sons
  11. Billy’s Birds
  12. Birthday with David