Ian Anderson Plays The Orchestral Jethro Tull



Out of stock

Free Shipping for orders over £50


 Release Date: 18th November 2022

Ian Anderson Plays The Orchestral Jethro Tull will be released on 2LP black vinyl. Originally released
in 2005 on CD and DVD, this edition contains the concert in its entirety on vinyl for the very first time.
Between 2004 and 2006, Ian Anderson toured the Ian Anderson Plays The Orchestral Jethro Tull series
across Europe and the USA, alongside the Frankfurt Neue Philharmonie Orchestra, conducted by John
O’Hara. It also featured Florian Opahle (acoustic and electric guitars), David Goodier (bass and
glockenspiel) and James Duncan (drums and percussion)
Speaking in 2005, Ian Anderson said about playing with the orchestra: “The core band who play with
me on these concerts are chosen for their skills in varied musical disciplines. They have to cover, not
only the different styles and nuances of any of my and Jethro Tull’s music over the many years, but also
need to have a good understanding of the complete workings of the orchestral settings we employ. The
various orchestras with whom I have played since 2001 all have their separate personalities. Some
have worked in the whacky world of “crossover” Classics with people like me before. Some have not
and thus face a musical interrogation at rehearsal as we discovery our mutual strengths and failings.
But the whole point is to revel in the little tensions, to explore and exploit the skills and excellence of
playing and try ultimately not to get too


Side A

  1. Eurology
  2. Calliandra Shade
  3. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The
  4. New Day
  5. Up The Pool
  6. We Five (Three) Kings
  7. Life Is A Long Song
  8. In The Grip Of Stronger Stuff

Side B

  1. Wond’ring Aloud
  2. Griminelli’s Lament
  3. Cheap Day Return
  4. Mother Goose
  5. Bourée
  6. Boris Dancing
  7. Living In The Past

Side C

  1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  2. My God
  3. Aqualung

Side D

  1. Pavane
  2. Budapest
  3. Locomotive Breath