Cowboy In Sweden (Deluxe Edition)



In stock

Free Shipping for orders over £50


Double LP expanded edition includes outtakes, demos and instrumentals, including 10
previously unreleased recordings. 26 total tracks.
Album remastered from pristine LHI master tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated mastering
engineer John Baldwin.
Liner notes by GRAMMY®-nominated reissue producer Hunter Lea including interviews
with Torbjörn Axelman, Suzi Jane Hokom, Nina Lizell, Don Randi, Hal Blaine and Shel
Rare film production photos from the Torbjörn Axelman archive.
By the end of the 1960s Lee Hazlewood’s LHI Records had burned piles of cash, gone
through a half dozen distributors and failed to achieve the kind of chart success “Boots”
had promised. Fortunately for Lee there was a land where he was still on the top of the
charts, a place where women flowed like Brännvin…Sweden was calling.
Released as the last LHI LP, Cowboy in Sweden was a soundtrack to the 1970 cult classic
film of the same name starring Lee Hazlewood. The film was a surreal psychedelic account
of Lee’s journey to his new homeland, while the soundtrack was a perfect compilation of
Hazlewood’s orchestral melancholy country pop songs. Recorded over a prolific globe
trotting three year period, Lee’s peak on LHI records was ironically the label’s swan song.


  1. Pray Them Bars Away (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  2. Leather and Lace (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood & Nina Lizell
  3. Forget Marie (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  4. Cold Hard Times (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  5. The Night Before (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  6. Hey Cowboy (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood & Nina Lizell
  7. No Train to Stockholm (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  8. For a Day Like Today (24 Bit)-Suzi Jane Hokom
  9. Easy and Me (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  10. What’s More I Don’t Need Her (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  11. Vem Kan Segla (I Can Sail Without the Wind) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood & Nina Lizell
  12. Me and the Wine and the City Lights (session outtake) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  13. First Street Blues (session outtake) (24 Bit)-Suzi Jane Hokom
  14. Pray Them Bars Away (alternate version) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  15. Easy and Me (alternate version) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  16. For A Day Like Today (take 1) (24 Bit)-Suzi Jane Hokom
  17. First Street Blues (take 1) (24 Bit)-Suzi Jane Hokom
  18. Leather and Lace (alternate vocal mix) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood & Nina Lizell
  19. The Night Before (mono single mix) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  20. What’s More I Don’t Need Her (instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  21. Pray Them Bars Away (take 7 instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  22. Easy and Me (take 5 instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  23. Cold Hard Times (take 4 instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  24. No Train To Stockholm (instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  25. Me and the Wine and the City Lights (instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood
  26. Hey Cowboy (instrumental) (24 Bit)-Lee Hazlewood