Against The Odds 1974 – 1982 (Deluxe Edition)



Out of stock

Label: ,
Free Shipping for orders over £50


There’s a certain un-assuming barn just outside Woodstock, New York. It’s easy to picture; the deep mythology of pop music history assures that much. For nearly two decades, the bulk of Blondie’s audio and visual archive sat inside.

One hundred reel-to-reel tapes, half a dozen cassettes, a few storage tubs crammed with records, bits of promotional flotsam, flyers, a stray Warhol print, and mirrored dressing room signage from four sold-out January 1980 nights at London’s Hammersmith Odeon. All of it lay silent through twenty humid summers, twenty frigid winters, and 20,000 rodents.

There were knives collected in Asia and sex worker advertisements pilfered from the UK’s red telephone boxes of the late 1970s. In a corner, a dust-caked RIAA-certified gold record for Eat To The Beat reclined against a wall, its protective glass scarred by a bullet hole.“Iggy and I were shooting guns at a wall in my basement one night,” guitarist Chris Stein told us. “This was a casualty.”

From this chaotic hoard of ephemera, this long-gestating project was born.

Over the years, Blondie’s many partner record companies have done an exemplary job archiving the band’s recorded legacy, given the miles it’s logged and the oceans it’s had to cross. From Larry Uttal’s Private Stock Records to Terry Ellis and Chris Wright’s Chrysalis, which was absorbed by Capitol and then Universal, the band’s reels have been moved, transferred, baked, re-boxed, remixed, and barcoded more than a few times. We pored over every foot of magnetic tape and, thanks to our brand new 24-bit, 192KHz transfers, have expanded the dynamic range of Blondie’s six LPs.

We’ve scoured the earth for era-appropriate photos, pic sleeves, lyrics sheets, fan club newsletters, postcards, jukebox strips, and even eight-track tapes. There will always be more to find. Whether it’s a mislabeled cassette tape squirrelled away in a New Jersey garage, a previously unknown Thai 45 variant, or a roll of film excavated at the Long Beach flea market, slivers of Blondie will continue to poke into our collective unconscious until there ceases to be any consciousness to poke.

What the seven members of Blondie set to tape over those first eight years remains among the most timeless music of its era, or any era. This is not hyperbole. Walk into a grocery store and Rapture fills the air. Spend an hour with any classic rock, ’80s throwback, LITE FM easy listening, or rockin’ oldies station and you will rediscover Heart of Glass.

Watch any given documentary on the birth of punk or hip hop, read any “Best Albums of All Time” list, and the stark three-color imagery of Parallel Lines will undoubtedly flash by. Visit any sports arena in the world and count the moments before you hear Call Me.

Blondie has transcended the realms of mere bands, evolving out of pop and punk to become a vital strand of American music’s core DNA.

Let this box set serve as a map of the genome.



CD 1: Out In The Streets

  1. Out In The Streets (1974)
  2. The Disco Song
  3. Sexy Ida
  4. Platinum Blonde
  5. The Thin Line
  6. Puerto Rico
  7. Once I Had A Love (1975)
  8. Out In The Streets (1975)

CD 2: Blondie (Self-Titled)

  1. X-Offender
  2. Little Girl Lies
  3. In The Flesh
  4. Look Good In Blue
  5. In The Sun
  6. A Shark In Jets Clothing
  7. Man Overboard
  8. Rip Her To Shreds
  9. Rifle Range
  10. Kung Fu Girls (Take 8)
  11. The Attack Of The Giant Ants
  12. X Offender (Intro)
  13. X Offender (Private Stock Single)
  14. In The Sun (Private Stock Single)
  15. Little Girl Lies (Private Stock Mix)
  16. In The Flesh (Extended Intro)
  17. A Shark In Jets Clothing (Take 2)
  18. Kung Fu Girls (Take 8)
  19. Scenery

CD 3: Plastic Letters

  1. Fan Mail
  2. Denis
  3. Bermuda Triangle Blues (Flight 45)
  4. Youth Nabbed As Sniper
  5. Contact In Red Square
  6. (I’m Always Touched By Your) Presence, Dear
  7. I’m On E 2:17
  8. I Didn’t Have The Nerve To Say No
  9. Love At The Pier
  10. No Imagination
  11. Kidnapper
  12. Detroit 442
  13. Cautious Lip
  14. Denis (Terry Ellis Mix)
  15. Moonlight Drive
  16. Bermuda Triangle Blues – Flight 45 (Take 1)
  17. I Didn’t Have The Nerve To Say No (Take 1)
  18. I’m On E (Take 2)
  19. Kidnapper (Take 2)
  20. Detroit 442 (Take 2)
  21. Poets Problem

CD 4: Parallel Lines

  1. Hanging On The Telephone
  2. One Way Or Another
  3. Picture This
  4. Fade Away And Radiate
  5. Pretty Baby
  6. I Know But I Don’t Know
  7. 11:59
  8. Will Anything Happen
  9. Sunday Girl
  10. Heart Of Glass
  11. I’m Gonna Love You Too
  12. Just Go Away
  13. Once I Had A Love (Mike Chapman Demo)
  14. Sunday Girl (French Version)
  15. I’ll Never Break Away From This Heart Of Mine (Pretty Baby)
  16. Hanging On The Telephone (Mike Chapman Demo)
  17. Will Anything Happen (Instrumental)

CD 6: Autoamerican

  1. Europa
  2. Live It Up
  3. Here’s Looking At You
  4. The Tide Is High
  5. Angels On The Balcony
  6. Go Through It
  7. Do The Dark
  8. Rapture
  9. Faces
  10. T-Birds
  11. Walk Like Me
  12. Follow Me
  13. Autoamerican Ad
  14. I Love You Honey, Give Me A Beer (Go Through It)
  15. Live It Up (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
  16. Angels on the Balcony (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
  17. Tide Is High (Demo)
  18. Susie & Jeffrey
  19. Rapture (Disco Version)

CD 7: The Hunter

  1. Orchid Club
  2. Island Of Lost Souls
  3. Dragonfly
  4. For Your Eyes Only
  5. The Beast
  6. War Child
  7. Little Caesar
  8. Danceway
  9. (Can I) Find The Right Words (To Say)
  10. English Boys
  11. The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
  12. Yuletide Throwdown

CD 8: Home Tapes

  1. Nameless (Home Tape)
  2. Mr. Sightseer
  3. Sunday Girl (Home Tape)
  4. Theme From Topkapi (Home Tape)
  5. The Hardest Part (Home Tape)
  6. Ring Of Fire (Home Tape)
  7. Heart of Glass (Chris Stein Mix)
  8. Call Me (Chris Stein Mix)
  9. War Child (Chris Stein Mix)